November 21, 1996


The meeting was called to order by Commander Russell P. Jones, followed by the Pledge of Allegiance.


Other members in attendance were:

Joe Long Phil Jones Bill Lindberg Mark Myers
Russ W. Jones Jim McElroy Ron Albert Don Cahoon


The minutes from the October  meeting were read.  A motion to accept the minutes was made by Bill Lindberg and seconded by Russ W. Jones.  All were in favor.



Joe Long read the financial report with the following information:

     88 Members have paid dues.

     $1764.73 transferred from Mellon account to North Penn account.

     Ticket winner for October was Shirley Carpenetti and November was Ronald Ricci.

A motion to accept the Financial report was made.   All were in favor and the report was referred to the audit committee.



Commander Jones gave a report on the cannon.  The deposition took place in November as scheduled.



Joe Long submitted receipts for the petty cash account.  A motion to update the petty cash fund was made by Bill Lindberg and seconded by Russ Jones.  All were in favor.


Joe Long made a motion to donate $50 to the Lackawanna County Veterans Center for their annual Christmas Party.  Seconded by Mark Myers.  All were in favor.


Joe Long brought up the fact that a monument to honor the Medal of Honor winners from Lackawanna County did not have DeLacy’s name listed.  He sent a letter to inform them.  We will wait to hear from them before we decide to make a donation.


Bill Lindberg made a report about the Department Meeting in Carlisle on November 2.  He brought up several issues.  Joe will work with Bill to get an updated copy of the Constitution and



Joe Long nominated Phil Jones to fill the opening on the Board.  The term expires January 2002.


With no further business, questions or discussion, a motion to adjourn and open nomination of Officers was made by Bill Lindberg and seconded by Ron Albert.  All were in favor.


At this time nominations of Officers was held.


List of nominations are as follows:

Commander: Russell W. Jones

Sr. Vice: Dennis Rightmire

Jr. Vice: Bill Lindberg

Council: Russell P. Jones, Phil Jones & James McElroy

Secretary: Robert C. Shaffer

Treasurer: Joseph Long Jr.


Nominations will be reopened prior to voting in December


Respectfully Submitted,

Robert C. Shaffer