December 14, 2000


The meeting was called to order by Commander Phil C. Jones, followed by the Pledge of Allegiance.


Other members in attendance were:

Russ W. Jones Joe Long Don Cahoon Russ P. Jones
Howard Lane Ron Albert Bob Shaffer John Schaefer


The minutes from the November  meeting were approved as read.  A motion to accept the minutes was made by Russ P. Jones and seconded by Russ W. Jones.  All were in favor.



Joe Long read the financial report with the following information:

     No report because Joe had not received any statements.

     December 9th winner - Mary Jane Bannan, Harrisburg

     October 21st winner - Mary Smith, Duncannon


A motion to accept the Financial report was made by Bob Shaffer and seconded by Russ W. Jones.   All were in favor and the report was referred to the audit committee.  Note:  The annual audit will be done before the January meeting.



No reply from the contractor regarding the shelves.


Joe will get a piece of black cloth to drape the charter in remembrance of Ivan Frantz Sr.


Joe reported that Remembrance Day went well and he also suggested that more members attend.



Commander Jones reported on the Meritorious Service Award that was given to Joe Long for his long term service and commitment to the Sons.


Joe Long reported that Department Commander Chuck Young will be attending our January 18th meeting for the purpose of installing our newly elected Officers.  He also mention that the Appomattox Dinner will be held in Lancaster on 31 March 2001.  Camp #8 is due to host this dinner in 2002.


There was a motion by Bob Shaffer and seconded by Ron Albert to set Bob Yeager, Russ P. Jones and Don Cahoon as Court Appointees for the Memorial Association and also appoint Camp Member Joe Long and Russ W. Jones to a five year term on the Memorial Association as well.


Russ P. Jones made a motion to send a $50.00 basket to the Yeager family.  Joe Long seconded and all were in favor.


At this time there was a motion by Russ P. Jones to close the meeting and open nominations of Officers.  It was seconded by Bob Shaffer and all were in favor.  Commander Jones then turned the meeting over to Senior Vice Commander Ron Albert.


Nominations of Officers were as follows:

Commander: Phil Jones

Sr. Vice: Ron Albert

Jr. Vice: Russ W. Jones

Secretary: Bob Shaffer

Treasurer: Joe Long

Patriotic Instructor: Chuck Jones

Chaplain: Mark Myers

Historian: Joe Long

Guide: Howard Lane

Color Guard: Earl Folk

Camp Guard: Howard Wolfe

Press Correspondent: Phil Jones

Council: Russ W. Jones, Russ P. Jones & Bob Yeager


Acting Commander Albert made a motion to close nominations and asked Secretary Shaffer to cast 1 vote to second and all were in favor and nominations were closed.


With no further business, questions or discussion, a motion to adjourn was made by Russ P. Jones  and seconded by Ron Albert.  All were in favor.


Respectfully Submitted,

Robert C. Shaffer